A free alternative to Jott at Dial2Do

There is a new post over a TechCrunch where they catch on about the demise of Jott.  That’s old news.

But the comments yielded a choir of endorsements for a replacement service with a price point that the Scotsman can truly appreciate:  Free.  It called Dial2Do.  So thanks to Lenny, Fergus, and Greg; their tip is really handy one for us Jott ex-pats. 

No More Free Jott For You

The free version of Jott is going to end on February 2, CEO John Pollard told me today. The terrible advertising market, he says, means every customer has to pay their own way from now on. Customers will need to pay $4/month to continue the service, the current price for a premium account. This includes users of the Jott iPhone application.

Published in: on January 13, 2009 at 4:58 pm  Comments (16)  

The URI to TrackBack this entry is: http://2thyme.wordpress.com/2009/01/13/a-free-alternative-to-jott-at-dial2do/trackback/

RSS feed for comments on this post.

16 CommentsLeave a comment

  1. I just blogged about the same issues between Jott and Dial2do; Thanks for the tip!! I dont mind a wise business model, but I bet I will get more for my money with Dial2Do once they start charging.

    http://theanthrogeek.com/2009/01/13/dial2do-gmail-omnifocus-hack/

  2. [...] We sort of expected that either cell companies (or these days maybe Google Voice) would eventually provide a similar service for free, just to be competitive, and drive the Jott subscription model from the market.  Even if they hadn’t, Dial2Do still does. [...]

  3. Hi! I know this is somewhat off topic but I was wondering which blog platform are you using for this website?
    I’m getting fed up of WordPress because I’ve had problems with hackers and I’m looking at alternatives for another platform. I would be fantastic if you could point me in the direction of a good platform.

  4. I have read so many posts about the blogger lovers however this paragraph
    is actually a fastidious piece of writing, keep it up.

  5. It’s appropriate time to make some plans for the future and it is time to be happy. I have read this post and if I could I wish to suggest you some interesting things or suggestions. Maybe you could write next articles referring to this article. I want to read more things about it!

  6. Hey There. I found your weblog the usage of msn. This is a very well written article.

    I’ll be sure to bookmark it and return to learn extra of your useful information. Thanks for the post. I’ll certainly return.

  7. Having read this I believed it was extremely enlightening.
    I appreciate you taking the time and effort to put this
    article together. I once again find myself personally spending a significant amount of time both reading and posting comments.
    But so what, it was still worth it!

  8. Hi! Quick question that’s completely off topic. Do you know how to make your site mobile friendly? My website looks weird when viewing from my iphone 4. I’m trying to find a theme or plugin that might be able to resolve this problem.
    If you have any suggestions, please share. Thanks!

  9. I have to thank you for the efforts you’ve put in penning this blog. I’m hoping to view the same high-grade content by you in the future
    as well. In fact, your creative writing abilities has motivated
    me to get my own, personal website now ;)

  10. Howdy! Do you use Twitter? I’d like to follow you if that would be ok. I’m definitely enjoying your blog and look forward to new
    updates.

  11. I always used to study paragraph in news papers but now as
    I am a user of web thus from now I am using net for
    posts, thanks to web.

  12. Wow that was odd. I just wrote an incredibly long comment but after I clicked submit my comment didn’t appear. Grrrr… well I’m not writing all that over again.
    Anyhow, just wanted to say great blog!

  13. This is my first time pay a quick visit at here and i am genuinely
    happy to read everthing at one place.

  14. Hello there! Would you mind if I share your blog with my
    twitter group? There’s a lot of folks that I think would really appreciate
    your content. Please let me know. Thanks

  15. Post writing is also a excitement, if you know then you can write if not it is complicated to
    write.

  16. I like the valuable info you provide on your articles.

    I will bookmark your blog and take a look at once more right here
    frequently. I am moderately sure I’ll be
    informed a lot of new stuff right here! Good luck for the next!


Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

