Tweeting tiny URLs using Java

A little while back I mentioned using Twitter API‘s especially Twitter4J for to send alerts.  Well it was not long before I wanted to send URLs that pointed to more extensive log entries regarding the status alerts.  So here are a couple of articles that provide all you’ll need.

First an API table (and sample C# code) from  Sharing my thoughts …

How to programmatically create your tiny URL? « Sharing my thoughts…

Each provides having different kind formats to specify actual URL and get the converted URL back. Most of the sites will be listed this as their API. Here I listed 3 of the most famous provider’s format.

Is.gd http://is.gd/api.php?longurl={your_url}
Bit.ly http://bit.ly/api?url={your_url}
Tinyurl http://tinyurl.com/api-create.php?url={your_url}

Second, a sample Java implementation from It’s Only Software

» [Tutorial] Accessing the TinyURL “API” from Java – It’s Only Software

Recently, I poked around and wrote up a simple Java method to, given a URL (TinyURL supports only GET requests), generate a TinyURL from it in Java. This is really the only “API” supported by the TinyURL service, but it’s a handy one!

Published in: on May 8, 2009 at 2:59 pm  Comments (15)  

The URI to TrackBack this entry is: https://2thyme.wordpress.com/2009/05/08/tweeting-tiny-urls-using-java/trackback/

RSS feed for comments on this post.

15 CommentsLeave a comment

  1. Thanks for the linkback!

  2. Hi,
    I have account in bitly. I have customized twitter implementation with the help of bitly url shorter. Thanks thats great..

    Aim : I have to short the url with the help of bitly API. Current implementation is i have sent my url as query string and that process happen beyond my firewall. Is is possible to short the url with the help of your API with in my network.

    Thanks in Advance!..

  3. Very good info. Lucky me I recently found your website by accident (stumbleupon).
    I have book-marked it for later!

  4. Awesome blog! Do you have any suggestions for aspiring writers?
    I’m planning to start my own site soon but I’m a little lost on everything.
    Would you propose starting with a free platform like WordPress
    or go for a paid option? There are so many options out there that I’m completely confused
    .. Any ideas? Thanks!

  5. My programmer is trying to convince me to move to .net from
    PHP. I have always disliked the idea because of the costs.
    But he’s tryiong none the less. I’ve been using Movable-type on a variety of websites for about a year and am worried about switching to another
    platform. I have heard great things about blogengine.net.
    Is there a way I can import all my wordpress content into it?
    Any kind of help would be really appreciated!

  6. This info is worth everyone’s attention. How
    can I find out more?

  7. I like the helpful info you supply in your articles. I’ll
    bookmark your blog and take a look at once more right here regularly.
    I’m relatively certain I’ll be told many new stuff proper right here!

    Good luck for the next!

  8. There is definately a great deal to learn about this topic.
    I love all the points you have made.

  9. Heya this is kind of of off topic but I was wondering if blogs use WYSIWYG
    editors or if you have to manually code with HTML. I’m starting a blog soon but have no
    coding knowledge so I wanted to get advice from someone with
    experience. Any help would be enormously appreciated!

  10. Appreciation to my father who told me about this
    weblog, this weblog is truly amazing.

  11. I amm really impressed with your writing skills as well as with the layout on your blog.

    Is this a paid theme or did you customizae it yourself?
    Anyway keep uup the excellent quality writing, it’s rare to see a great bllg like
    this one nowadays.

  12. Hi there! I could have sworn I’ve been to your blog before but after going
    through many of the articles I realized it’s new to me.

    Nonetheless, I’m definitely delighted I came across it and
    I’ll bbe bookmarking it and checking back often!

  13. You can also choose properties from Tampa homes for sale.
    ) They will do them for free and are usually pretty accurate.
    Find out where and how to purchase used FEMA trailers to find some potential bargains.

  14. career pro resume service rochester ny

    Tweeting tiny URLs using Java | Scotsman on a Horse

  15. Awesome issues here. I’m very glad to see your article.
    Thanks so much and I am having a look forward to touch you.
    Will you please drop me a mail?


Leave a Reply

